History of Colombo Divisional Secretariat

srilanka2 History of Colombo Divisional SecretariatBefore 1999, Colombo Municipal Council area was regarded as only one Divisional Secretariat Division. Later, this office was divided in to two; namely, Colombo and Thimbirigasyaya. There are 47 urban divisions in Colombo Municipal Council. Though the Grama Niladhari divisions were established according to those urban divisions, another 8 Grama Niladhari divisions were established considering the population density. Accordingly the total no. of Grama Niladhari divisions is 55. Out of those 55, 30 belong to Colombo Divisional Secretariat. According to the 2001 census, Colombo Divisional Secretariat Division had the highest population density which was 377,396. It was estimated to be 425,000 by the year 2005. Since then, this office has faced so many difficulties and developed a mechanism to serve the public more effectively efficiently.

Application Form (doc - 100KB)







Scroll To Top